COVID-19 Symptom Attestation

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Modern and Classical Languages Office Hours - Summer 2021

We are operating remotely. Please contact instructors and advisors via email to request Zoom link details, unless advised differently (various forms for communication are being used and you will be advised accordingly). Please email instructor for alternate meeting time, if needed.

 

Department Chair

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

Chair, Associate Professor of German & Linguistics

email for appt

MH 223B

360-650-2038

dubenis@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Smith

Office Staff

Hours of Operation

Office

Contact Info

 

Childs, Holly

Department Manager

M-F 8:00-4:00 MH 223A

360-650-3919

carrh@wwu.edu

Photo of Holly Childs

Brown, Angela

Program Coordinator

M-F 8:00-4:00 MH 223

360-650-3918

browna59@wwu.edu

 

Professor

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

on leave

MH 215E

360-650-7427

360-650-7786

alferss@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Alfers

Aranda, Blanca

Associate Professor of Spanish

on leave

MH 128

360-650-2528

arandab@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Aranda

Araniva, Mauricio

Senior Instructor of Spanish

on leave MH 217C

360-650-2094

aranivm@wwu.edu

 

Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

on leave

MH 122A

360-650-4852

bernars3@wwu.edu

Bond, Nathaniel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

email for appt MH 222B

360-650-4394

bondn2@wwu.edu

 

Carbajal, Amy

Senior Instructor of Spanish

on leave MH 216B

360-650-7967

carbamy@wwu.edu

 

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

on leave MH 217E

360-650-4155

deguchm@wwu.edu

 

Drickey, Kirsten

Senior Instructor of Spanish

on leave

MH 218F

360-650-4536

drickek@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Drickey

Dwyer, Sean

Senior Instructor of Spanish

email for appt re:

new student advising

& placement

MH 216C

360-650-3559

dwyers2@wwu.edu

Photo of Sean Dwyer

Engelsing, Eduardo

Associate Professor of Classical Studies

on leave MH 122C

360-650-2711

engelse@wwu.edu

 

Erickson-Lapidus, Andrew

Instructor of German

on leave   ericksa9@wwu.edu  

Fiero, Petra 

Professor of German

on leave MH 217A

360-650-4860

fiero@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Fiero

García, Hugo

Associate Professor of Spanish

on leave MH 226

360-650-4201

garciah2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Garcia

Hanania, Cécile

​Professor of French

on leave MH 126

360-650-4858

hananic@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hanania

Hartwell, Ernest

Assistant Professor of Spanish

on leave

MH 217D

360-650-2751

hartwee@wwu.edu

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

email for appt re: 

study abroad, 301+ advising, & F21/W22 graduation

MH 222A

360-650-4803

jmhoffma@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hoffman

Hussein, Tamer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic

on leave MH 230

360-650-2093

husseit@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hussein

Keppie, Christina

Professor of French and Linguistics

email for appt MH 215D

360-650-3930

keppiec@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Keppie

Krause, Miller

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

on leave

MH 122D

360-650-4269

krausem@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Krause

Kusakabe, Madoka

Senior Instructor of Japanese

on leave MH 222D

360-650-7492

kusakam@wwu.edu

 

Mata, R.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

email for appt MH 218C

360-650-3927

matar@wwu.edu

Olivier, Thierry

Visiting Instructor of French

on leave MH 122B oliviet@wwu.edu

Partsch, Cornelius  

Professor of German

on leave MH 216E

360-650-3929

partscc@wwu.edu

Patterson, Charles

Professor of Spanish

on leave MH 216D

360-650-2154

patterc5@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Patterson

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Senior Instructor of Spanish

on leave MH 222B

360-650-4200

luis.portugal@wwu.edu

Rangel, Mary Anne

Senior Instructor of Spanish

on leave MH 218A

360-650-4802

rangelm@wwu.edu

 

Smith, Lindsey

Assistant Professor of French

email for appt

MH 215A

360-650-3925

smithl74@wwu.edu

 

Stayskal, Byron

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

on leave MH 122E

360-650-4854

stayskb@wwu.edu

 

Su, Wenling

Instructor of Chinese

on leave MH 222D

360-650-7965

suw@wwu.edu

 

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese

on leave

MH 222C

360-650-3339

mtomasi@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Tomasi

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

email for appt MH 218E

360-650-4856

vajda@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Vajda

Winter, Julie

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

on leave MH 215C

360-650-4394

winterj8@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Winter

Wu, Julian

Assistant Professor of Chinese

on leave MH 217B

360-650-6122

wus6@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wu

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

on leave

MH 218D

360-650-3926

zxing@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Xing

 

Emeritus Faculty

Amundsen, Darrel Classics  
Brockhaus, Henrich German  
Gynan, Shaw Spanish  
Hamblin, Vicki French  
Milicic, Vladimir Russian  
Moerschner, Kurt German  
Ousselin, Edward French  
Rangel-Guerrero, Daniel Spanish  
Robinson, Walter German  
Suess, Walter German  
Tomlonovic, Kathleen Chinese
Underwood, John Spanish  
Rudolf, Weiss German  
Yusa, Michiko Japanese