College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Faculty & Staff

Modern and Classical Languages Office Hours - Fall 2021

Please contact faculty via email to request meeting details for in-person or online advising.

Department Chair

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Dubenion-Smith, Shannon

Chair, Associate Professor of German & Linguistics

MW 10:00-11:00 

TR 10:30-11:30 

MH 223B

360-650-2038

dubenis@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Smith

Office Staff

Hours of Operation

Office

Contact Info

 

Childs, Holly

Department Manager

M-F 8:00-4:00 MH 223A

360-650-3919

carrh@wwu.edu

Photo of Holly Childs

Brown, Angela

Program Coordinator

M-F 8:00-5:00 MH 223

360-650-3918

browna59@wwu.edu

 

Professor

Office Hours or by Appointment

Office

Contact Info

 

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

email for appt

MH 215E

360-650-7427

360-650-7786

alferss@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Alfers

Aranda, Blanca

Associate Professor of Spanish

M 9:00-10:00

W 2:30-3:30

MH 128

360-650-2528

arandab@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Aranda

Araniva, Mauricio

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 7:50-8:20, 12:55-1:25 MH 217C

360-650-2094

aranivm@wwu.edu

 

Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

T 3:15-3:45

W 10:00-11:00

R 3:15-3:45

MH 122A

360-650-4852

bernars3@wwu.edu

Bond, Nathaniel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

MWF 10:30-11:20 MH 222B

360-650-4394

bondn2@wwu.edu

 

Carbajal, Amy

Senior Instructor of Spanish

email for appt MH 216B

360-650-7967

carbamy@wwu.edu

 

Carter, Elizabeth

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese

email for appt MH 122B

360-650-7903

carter52@wwu.edu

 

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

MWF 11:30-12:30 MH 217E

360-650-4155

deguchm@wwu.edu

 

Drickey, Kirsten

Senior Instructor of Spanish

M 1:00-2:00

WF 10:00-11:00

MH 218F

360-650-4536

drickek@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Drickey

Dwyer, Sean

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MWF 11:30-12:30

MH 216C

360-650-3559

dwyers2@wwu.edu

Photo of Sean Dwyer

Engelsing, Eduardo

Associate Professor of Classical Studies

on leave  MH 122C

360-650-2711

engelse@wwu.edu

 

Fiero, Petra 

Professor of German

MW 2:30-3:50 MH 217A

360-650-4860

fiero@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Fiero

García, Hugo

Associate Professor of Spanish

email for appt MH 226

360-650-4201

garciah2@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Garcia

Hanania, Cécile

​Professor of French

MT 4:00-5:30 MH 126

360-650-4858

hananic@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hanania

Hartwell, Ernest

Assistant Professor of Spanish

T 2:00-3:30

W 10:00-11:30

MH 217D

360-650-2751

hartwee@wwu.edu

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

M 12:00-4:00 by appt only

MH 222A

360-650-4803

jmhoffma@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hoffman

Hussein, Tamer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic

MW 4:30-6:00 MH 230

360-650-2093

husseit@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Hussein

Jehan, Aude

Visiting Assistant Professor of French

email for appt MH 122B

360-650-7996

jehana@wwu.edu

 

Keppie, Christina

Professor of French and Linguistics

W 11:00-1:00 MH 215D

360-650-3930

keppiec@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Keppie

Krause, Miller

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

TR 11:30-12:00, 3:30-4:00 MH 122D

360-650-4269

krausem@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Krause

Kusakabe, Madoka

Senior Instructor of Japanese

MWF 4:00-5:00 MH 222D

360-650-7492

kusakam@wwu.edu

 

Martin, Danielle

Instructor of Classics

MW 1:00-2:00 MH 122D

360-650-7908

peter267@wwu.edu

 

Mata, R.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

email for appt MH 218C

360-650-3927

matar@wwu.edu

Owlarn, Thiti

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

email for appt MH 222B

360-650-4679

owlarnt@wwu.edu

Professor Thiti Owlarn

Partsch, Cornelius  

Professor of German

W 2:30-3:30 MH 216E

360-650-3929

partscc@wwu.edu

Patterson, Charles

Professor of Spanish

MWF 3:00-4:00 MH 216D

360-650-2154

patterc5@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Patterson

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MW 11:30-12:30  MH 228

360-650-4200

portugl@wwu.edu

Rangel, Mary Anne

Senior Instructor of Spanish

email for appt MH 218A

360-650-4802

rangelm@wwu.edu

 

Smith, Lindsey

Assistant Professor of French

MW 2:30-4:00  MH 215A

360-650-3925

smithl74@wwu.edu

Assistant Professor Lindsey Smith

Stayskal, Byron

Visiting Assistant Professor of Classical Studies

email for appt MH 122E

360-650-4854

stayskb@wwu.edu

 

Su, Wenling

Instructor of Chinese

TR 12:00-1:30 MH 222D

360-650-7965

suw@wwu.edu

 

Taylor, Scott

Visiting Assistant Professor of French

MW 1:00-1:30, 4:00-4:30 MH 218B

360-650-7966

taylo26@wwu.edu

 

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese and East Asian Studies

M 1:30-2:15

F 4:00-4:45

MH 222C

360-650-3339

mtomasi@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Tomasi

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

email for appt MH 218E

360-650-4856

vajda@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Vajda

Winter, Julie

Visiting Assistant Professor of German

email for appt MH 215C

360-650-4394

winterj8@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Winter

Wu, Julian

Associate Professor of Chinese

email for appt MH 217B

360-650-6122

wus6@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Wu

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

on leave

MH 218D

360-650-3926

zxing@wwu.edu

Photo of Dr. Xing

 

Emeritus Faculty

Amundsen, Darrel Classics  
Brockhaus, Henrich German  
Gynan, Shaw Spanish  
Hamblin, Vicki French  
Milicic, Vladimir Russian  
Moerschner, Kurt German  
Rangel-Guerrero, Daniel Spanish  
Robinson, Walter German  
Suess, Walter German  
Tomlonovic, Kathleen Chinese
Underwood, John Spanish  
Rudolf, Weiss German  
Yusa, Michiko Japanese