COVID-19 Symptom Attestation

College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Advising - MCL

Modern & Classical Language Advisors - Winter 2021 

We are operating remotely. Please contact advisors via email to request Zoom link details, unless advised differently (various forms for communication are being used and you will be advised accordingly). Hours listed below are effective January 5-March 19.  

If you have questions about your placement into classes, please view the following document for guidance: MCL Language Placement Guidelines Your language advisor can provide further guidance. 

Arabic 

Hussein, Tamer

Visiting Assistant Professor of Arabic

MW 4:30-6:00 MH 230

360-650-2093

husseit@wwu.edu

Chinese Major/Minor

Xing, Janet

Professor of Chinese and Linguistics

 

email for appt

MH 218D

360-650-3926

zxing@wwu.edu

Chinese Study Abroad

Wu, Julian

Assistant Professor of Chinese

email for appt MH 217B

360-650-6122

wus6@wwu.edu

East Asian Studies

Tomasi, Massimiliano

Professor of Japanese

email for appt

MH 222C

360-650-3339

mtomasi@wwu.edu

French Major/Minor/Study Abroad

Smith, Lindsey

Assistant Professor of French

MW - email for appt MH 215A

360-650-3925

smithl74@wwu.edu

German Major/Minor

Alfers, Sandra

Professor of German

email for appt

MH 215E

360-650-7427

360-650-7786

alferss@wwu.edu

Japanese Major/Minor

Bond, Nathaniel

Visiting Assistant Professor of Japanese

MWF 11:30-12:30 MH 222B

360-650-4394

bondn2@wwu.edu

Japanese Study Abroad

Deguchi, Masanori

Associate Professor of Japanese and Linguistics

MWF 2:30-3:30 MH 217E

360-650-4155

deguchm@wwu.edu

Latin American Studies Major/Minor

Portugal, Luis Gonzalo

Senior Instructor of Spanish

MW 12:00-1:00 MH 222B

360-650-4200

luis.portugal@wwu.edu

Latin/Greek/Classical Studies

Engelsing, Eduardo

Associate Professor of Classical Studies

email for appt MH 122C

360-650-2711

engelse@wwu.edu

Russian/Eurasian

Vajda, Edward

Professor of Russian

MWF 11:00-11:30

MH 218E

360-650-4856

vajda@wwu.edu

Spanish Major

Patterson, Charles

Professor of Spanish

TR 2:00-4:00 MH 216D

360-650-2154

patterc5@wwu.edu

Spanish Minor

Aranda, Blanca

Associate Professor of Spanish

email for appt MH 128

360-650-2528

arandab@wwu.edu

Spanish Minor

García, Hugo

Assosciate Professor of Spanish

email for appt

MH 226

360-650-4852

garciah2@wwu.edu

Spanish Study Abroad

Hoffman, Joan

Professor of Spanish

email for appt MH 222A

360-650-4803

jmhoffma@wwu.edu

Spanish - Teaching Endorsement

Mata, R.

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

email for appt MH 218C

360-650-3927

matar@wwu.edu

World Language Endorsement**

Bernardo-Hinesley, Sheryl

Assistant Professor of Spanish and Linguistics

W 10:30-12:00 - email for appt

R 1:00-2:30 - email for appt 

MH 122A

360-650-4852

bernars3@wwu.edu

** students should meet with their respective language major advisor in order to have their language courses checked off on their Woodring evaluation form before meeting with World Language Endorsement Advisor.