College Organization & Structure

College Structure

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Western's largest academic unit, is composed of two divisions: social and behavioral sciences (Anthropology; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Health and Human Development; Linguistics; Political Science; Psychology; Sociology) and humanities (Communication Studies, English, Global Humanities and Religions, History, Journalism, Modern and Classical Languages, Philosophy). These fourteen departments offer more nearly 50 bachelor's degrees and 12 master's degrees, along with interdisciplinary degrees in East Asian Studies, Multidisciplinary Studies, Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies and other student-faculty designed majors.

The College houses several research and service centers, including the Center for Cross-Cultural Research, the Center for Performance Excellence, and the Office of Survey Research, and two community-based professional training centers: the Speech-Language-Hearing Clinic and the Psychology Counseling Clinic. In addition, the College has five nationally accredited professional programs: School Counseling, Mental Health Counseling, Speech Pathology, Community Health, and Recreation.

College Organization

The Dean of the College functions as administrator, planner, leader, and spokesperson for the College, reporting to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs. The Dean is the representative of the faculty and staff of the College to the University administration and other units of the University.

The Associate Dean provides support to the Dean and serves as Dean in the absence of the Dean.

The Operations Manager provides support to the Dean and monitors the administrative activities of the College.

The Chair of a department is appointed on the joint recommendation of the Dean and the department to the Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs. A department chair generally serves a four-year term. The department chair provides leadership for the department in planning, curriculum, faculty development, and management of the department's resources.

The Dean's Advisory Council (DAC), consisting of all department chairs and program directors in the College, advises the Dean with respect to all matters of common interest to the College, reviews organization and long-range plans, and suggests modifications where appropriate.

The business of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, apart from that conducted by its administrative offices, is conducted by the following councils or committees: the Faculty Affairs Council, the Curriculum Council, the Computer Advisory Committee, the Tenure and Promotion Committee, the Post Tenure Review Committee, the Professional Leave Committee, the Scholarship Committee, and the Ad hoc Committees. The members of these councils and committees, who represent the faculty of the College, are selected from tenure-track or tenured faculty in its departments.